skip to Main Content
Colin Wilkinson Appointed Managing Director Of SLTA

Colin Wilkinson appointed managing director of SLTA

THE Scottish Licensed Trade Association (SLTA) has appointed a well-kent face – former secretary Colin Wilkinson – as managing director.

Wilkinson joined the SLTA in 1981 and has seen the industry transform over the last four decades. This position reflects the internal restructuring that has taken place as part of the association’s ambitious three-year Time for Change action plan.

The position of managing director combines the roles and responsibilities of former SLTA chief executive Paul Waterson, with whom Wilkinson worked closely over the last 18 years, and the SLTA secretary.

Meanwhile, the SLTA’s new non-executive Board members have been confirmed as: Jim Grierson, former sales director of Maxxium UK (chairman); Kenny MacAskill, former Scottish Government Minister for Justice; Lawrence Durden, tourism industry manager, industry and enterprise networks, Skills Development Scotland; Glen Gribbon, marketing director, The Macallan at the Edrington Group; John Shearer, SLTA President; Stephen Montgomery, SLTA vice-President; Graham Blaikie, SLTA treasurer; and Marshall Bain and Graham Forbes, SLTA Regional Council members.

Drawn from various sectors of industry, the new Board members bring a broad-ranging set of skills and expertise to fulfil the Board’s responsibilities of governance and the long-term national strategy of the organisation.

Meanwhile, the SLTA’s new Regional Council – a combination of the association’s former Executive and Managing Committees – will embrace the local and regional associations with a remit to ensure ongoing communication with the wider membership. It will also highlight issues of national significance to the Board. Each regional association is represented on the Council.

Wilkinson said: “This is an exciting time for the SLTA as we move forward and support our members in times of change both within the licensed trade and in the political sphere. I look forward to working with the Board and Regional Council to ensure that our voice is heard on all issues and debates affecting the licensed trade and hospitality industry.”

Members of the Regional Council are:


Douglas Harrison, Covenanters’ Inn, Auldearn

Murray Lamont, Mackays Hotel, Wick

Robert Sutherland, The Waterfront,Wick


Graham Forbes, Taboo Scotland Ltd, Forres

David Hill, Station Hotel, Burghead, Elgin

Mike Kinnaird, Bugsy Brown’s, Aberdeen


Marshall Bain, Queen Charlotte Rooms, Leith, Edinburgh

Jim Wilkie, Wilkie’s Bar, Edinburgh


Stewart Clarkson, The Stables, Prestwick

Brian Armstrong, Chancers Nightclub, Dumfries

Eric Montgomery, 5 Queen Street, Castle Douglas


Alistair Don, Glasgow

Jim Clancy, Glasgow

Billy Gold, Heilan Jessie, Glasgow


John Black, The Fort Bar, Broughty Ferry

David Glass, Doc Ferry’s Bar, Broughty Ferry

Back To Top