skip to Main Content
Glasgow Will Move To Level 2 On Saturday 5 June

Glasgow will move to Level 2 on Saturday 5 June

The First Minister today outlined the next steps to Parliament and confirmed that Glasgow will move to Level 2 from 00:01 on Saturday 5 June 2021.

The following mainland local authority areas will also remain at Level 2, while the situation with the virus is monitored closely:

  • East Dunbartonshire, East Renfrewshire and Renfrewshire
  • East Ayrshire, North Ayrshire, and South Ayrshire
  • North Lanarkshire and South Lanarkshire
  • Edinburgh and Midlothian
  • Stirling and Clackmannanshire
  • Dundee

At the same time, from 00:01 on Saturday 5 June 2021, these 15 mainland local authorities will move to Level 1:

  • Highland and Argyll & Bute
  • Aberdeen City, Aberdeenshire and Moray
  • Angus and Perth & Kinross
  • Inverclyde and West Dunbartonshire
  • Falkirk
  • Fife
  • West Lothian and East Lothian
  • The Scottish Borders
  • Dumfries & Galloway

All islands currently in Level 1 will move to Level 0 at the same time due to sustained low numbers of cases. 

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon said:-

I appreciate that today’s decisions will feel like a mixed bag. That reflects the fact that we are in a transition phase. No part of the country is going backwards today. Before the vaccines, that would have been impossible on case numbers like this. But the vaccines are changing the game. And that means we can still be optimistic about our chances of much more normality over the summer and beyond.

As always, all of us have a part to play in beating this virus back. So please, stick with it, and each other.”

In response the Scottish Licensed Trade Association hailed the announcement as “fantastic news” allowing indoor licensed hospitality in Glasgow to open longer and sell alcohol and people now permitted to travel in and out of the area after nearly nine months of lockdown.

However, the SLTA expressed disappointment that several other local authority areas – Edinburgh, Midlothian, Dundee, East Dunbartonshire, Renfrewshire and East Renfrewshire, the three Ayrshires, North and South Lanarkshire, Clackmannanshire and Stirling – must remain in Level 2.

Colin Wilkinson, SLTA managing director said:-

First and foremost, we are delighted that Glasgow at long last has been given a much-needed break which will allow the easing of indoor licensed hospitality restrictions.  It really is fantastic news and telling businesses now gives them more time to get organised ahead of the weekend.   However, it must be remembered that Late Night Operators remain closed with no known dates when restrictions on that sector will be lifted.

We are also extremely happy that the Scottish islands currently in Level 1 can move into Level 0.”

We are, however, disappointed that so many other local authorities must remain in Level 2 rather than move to Level 1 as they were hoping. We accept the need for caution as the country continues to navigate its way through the pandemic but that doesn’t negate the feeling of deflation for businesses.”

Back To Top